Suggested Keywords for Online Catalog, and Database Search:
1. Atlanta Protests 1960.
2. Atlanta Sit ins 1960.
3. Atlanta Student Movement.
4. College Students Human Rights.
ATLANTA STUDENT MOVEMENT
Atlanta Committee for Cooperative Action. A Second look: The Negro Citizen in Atlanta. Place of publication not identified: publisher not identified, 1960.
Call Number: F294.A8 S42 1960 Archives Research Center.
Brown-Nagin, Tomika. Courage To Dissent, Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
Call Number: KF4757 .B74 2011.
Challenor, Herschelle S. & Whelchel, Love Henry (Spring 2001). Untold Stories and Unsung Heroes. Clark Atlanta Magazine, 12-17.
David J.Garrow. Atlanta, Georgia, 1960-1961: Sit-Ins and Student Activism. Brooklyn, N.Y. : Carlson Pub., 1989.
Call Number: F294.A89 N418 1989.
Clark College. Panther: Clark College Yearbook 1961. Atlanta, GA: Clark College, 1961. (p. 30-35)
Call Number: Archives Research Center.
Gayles, Gloria. J. W. (1993). Pushed Back to Strength: A Black Woman's Journey Home. Boston: Beacon Press. [pages 139-148]
Call Number: F444 M59 N48 1993.
Grady-Willis, Winston A. Challenging U.S. Apartheid: Atlanta and Black Struggles for Human Rights, 1960-1977. Durham: Duke University Press, 2006.
Call Number: F294.A89 .N4387 2006.
The Interdenominational Theological Center. The Center: The Interdenominational Theological Center Yearbook 1961 Atlanta, GA: The Interdenominational Theological Center (p. 63)
Call Number: Archives Research Center.
Lefever, Harry G. Undaunted by the Fight: Spelman College and the Civil Rights Movement, 1957-1967. Macon, GA: Longstreet Press,2005.
Call Number: F294.A89 N445 2005.
Look (Periodical). (1961). Two battles of Atlanta: The first one killed off boys and young men-- the second one, now in progress, pits youth against elders and against an old segregation policy-- It will affect the future of Atlanta, Georgia, the South, and the U.S.A. New York: Look. ARC AP2 L79 1961.
Morris Brown College. Brownite: Morris Brown College Yearbook 1961. Atlanta, GA: Morris Brown College, 1961. (p. 7)
Call Number: Archives Research Center.
CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT
Aldon, Morris. The Origins of the Civil Rights Movement; Black Communities Organizing for Change. New York: Free Press, 1984.
Call Number: E185.61 .M845 1984
Carson, Clayborne. The Eyes on the Prize: Civil Rights Reader: Documents, Speeches, and Firsthand Accounts from the Black Freedom Struggle, 1954-1990. New York: Penguin Books, 1991.
Call Number: E185.615 .E95 1991 (Main Education Resource).
Clemmons, Jeff. Rich’s: A Southern Institution. Charleston, SC: History Press, 2013.
Call Number: HF5465.U6 R526 2013.
Daniels, Maurice C. Saving the Soul of Georgia: Donald L. Hollowell and the Struggle for Civil Rights. Athens, Georgia: University of Georgia Press, 2013.
Call Number: eBook.
Fleming, Cynthia Griggs. Soon We Will Not Cry: The Liberation of Ruby Doris Smith Robinson. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield,1998.
Call Number: E185.97.R676F58 1998.
Franklin, John Hope, and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. From Slavery to Freedom: a History of African Americans. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1994.
Call Number: E185 .F825 1994.
Hampton, Henry. Eyes on the Prize. Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 2006.
Call Number: E185.61 .E943 2006 (DVD).
Hampton, Henry. Eyes on the Prize. Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 2006.
Call Number: E185.61 .E94 1993 (VHS).
Lawson, Steven F., and Charles M. Payne. Debating the Civil Rights Movement, 1945-1968. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield,1998.
Call Number: E185.61.L377 1998.
Lefever, Harry G., and Michael C. Page. Sacred Places: A Guide to the Civil Rights Sites in Atlanta, GA. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 2008.
Call Number: JC599.U52 G445 2008.
Lewis, Andrew B. The Shadow of Youth, The Remarkable Journey of the Civil Rights Generation. New York : Hill and Wang, 2009.
Call Number: E185.615 .L47755 2009.
Mason, Herman. Going against the Wind: A Pictorial History of African-Americans in Atlanta. Atlanta, GA: Longstreet Press, 1992.
Call Number: E 185.93.G4G651992
Ronald H. Bayor. Race and the Shaping of Twentieth-Century Atlanta. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1996.
Call Number: eBook.
Tuck, Stephen G.N. Beyond Atlanta: The Struggle for Racial Equality in Georgia, 1940-1980. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2001.
Call Number: F295.N4T83 2001.
Williams, Juan. Eyes on the Prize: America’s Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965. New York: Penguin Books, 1988.
Call Number: KF4757 .W52 1988.
MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS
The following manuscript collections are available at Archives Research Center, Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library http://www.auctr.edu/archives/.
Atlanta Student Movement Collection.
John H. Calhoun Jr. Papers (see Student Adult Liaison Committee)
Mary Ann Smith Wilson-Ruby Doris Smith Robinson Collection on Student Activism
Maurice Pennington Political Cartoon Collection
Seeking to Tell a Story: Political Action from Slavery to Civil Rights exhibit http://www.auctr.edu/exhibits/seeking-to-tell-a-story/
SNCC Vertical File
Trezzvant Anderson Collection (see Atlanta Sit-ins, Atlanta Story, Appeal for Human Rights)
ORAL HISTORY INTERVIEWS
Across the Color Line Oral History Collection, Atlanta History Center, Kenan Research Center.
Interviews include Charles Black, Constance Curry, Morris Dillard, Lydia Tucker Brown Douglas, Jesse Hill, Alton Hornsby, Lonnie King, and Johnny Parham
Anne Borders-Patterson: http://www.hlntv.com/video/2013/08/24/anne-borders-patterson-march-washington-martin-luther-king-speech/
Atlanta’s Black Community and Education Oral History Collection, Georgia State University Special Collections.
Interviews conducted in 1978-1979 by Vincent Fort for his master’s thesis. Includes interviews of Clarence Bacote, Julian Bond, James Brawley, Donald Hollowell, Alton Hornsby Lonnie King, Carolyn Long, Ralph Long, Benjamin Mays, Lois Moreland, Harry V. Richardson, Margaret Rowley, Wendell Whalum, and Mary Ann Smith Wilson.
Brenda Hill Cole Interview: http://hisdreamourstories.com/2013/08/15/judge-brenda-cole/
Commission to honor An Appeal for Human Rights and the Atlanta Student Movement. City of Atlanta
Interviews include Charles Black, Wylma Long Blanding, Julian Bond, Carolyn Long Banks, Herschelle Challenor, Brenda Hill Cole, Constance Curry, Morris Dilliard, James Felder, Lonnie King, Otis Moss Jr. Roslyn Pope, Lydia Tucker Arnold.http://www.atlantaga.gov/index.aspx?page=1141
Gwendolyn Middlebrooks Interview: http://www.freedommosaic.com/gwendolyn-middlebrooks
John B. Smith Sr., Publisher and CEO of the Atlanta Inquire, interview: http://digitalcommons.auctr.edu/oralhistory/1/
Mary Ann Smith Interview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kly0iVOCtxA
Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection, Moorland-Spingarn Research Center, Howard University Interview of Lonnie King (RJC31).
Reflections on Georgia Politics Oral History Collection, Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies University of Georgia, Athens. Lonnie King interview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ELvGKBEpqw
AUDIOVISUAL MATERIALS
Brown, Althea. A Trek to the River's Edge: A Documentary on the Atlanta Student Movement. 2014.
Call Number: E 185.61 .B76 2014 (DVD). Note: Archives Use Only.
Sanders, Alvelyn, and Georgianne Thomas. Foot Soldiers, Class of 1964, An Atlanta Story That Changed the World. Atlanta, GA.: Alvelyn Sanders, 2012.
Call Number: E 185.61 .A89 N437 2012 (DVD). Note: Archives Use Only.
Smart-Grosvenor, Vertamae, and Julian Bond. Will the Circle Be Unbroken? An Audio History of the Civil Rights Movement in Five Southern Communities and the Music of Those Times. Atlanta: Southern Regional Council, 1998. (CD- Disc 12)
Call Number: E 185.61 .W72 1998 (CD).
Theses
Fort, Vincent. The Atlanta Sit-in Movement 1960-1961: An Oral Study, Atlanta University, 1980.
Grady-Willis, Winston. A Changing Tide: Politics and Activism in Atlanta, Georgia, 1960-1977. Thesis, (Ph.D.) – Emory University,1998.
Call Number: F294.A89G73 1998a.
ATLANTA HISTORIC MARKERS & STREET SIGNS
Atlanta Student Movement Blvd and SNCC Way S.W. Atlanta, GA 30314 (formerly Fair Street and Raymond Streets, located at corner of CAU Alumni House) Dedicated November 1, 2014
Atlanta Student Movement, Georgia Civil Rights Trail Marker (at corner of James P. Brawley Drive and Atlanta Student Movement Blvd S.W. Atlanta, GA 30314) http://georgiahistory.com/ghmi_marker_updated/atlanta-students-movement/ Dedicated October 16, 2014.
Atlanta Student Movement Historical Trail: Includes video interviews of Atlanta student civil rights activists, and archival film footage and audio recordings from 1960 protests. http://asmhistoricaltrail.com/
Rush Memorial Congregational Church, Georgia Civil Rights Trail Marker (at corner of James P. Brawley Drive S.W. Atlanta, GA 30314) http://georgiahistory.com/ghmi_marker_updated/rush-memorial-congregational-church/ Dedicated October 16, 2014
Atlanta Student Movement historical marker, Clark Atlanta University, (near Trevor Arnett Hall) Dedicated March 31, 2000
“Historic Marker Honoring Atlanta University Center Student Movement for Civil Rights 1960”
Morehouse College, Martin Luther King Jr. International Chapel (on outside wall beneath M. L. King Jr. “I have a Dream” speech) Dedicated April 2, 2000
“Millennium Sunday, The 40th Anniversary of the Atlanta Civil Rights Movement Inaugural Celebration of a Season of Nonviolence”