Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature by
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Explore a wide range of topics on African American literature with Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature is a good place to begin the research process. In particular, the encyclopedia benefits those with a general interest in researching and/or learning more about African American studies. The volume contains annotations of African American popular culture works. Included are a variety of subject categories such as memoirs, films, music, magazines, self-publishers, and cultural critics just to name a few. Hip Hop Literature contains entries of both fiction and nonfiction titles related to hip hop and includes a selected bibliography.
Hip Hop Culture by
Publication Date: 2006-05-19
List of resources. Book breaks hip hop down by elements, form, history, biographical sketches, organizations, and selected nonprint resources. Good go to guide for putting together a bibliography of resources to use for projects and papers.
Hip Hop World by
Publication Date: 2009-09-29
Want to gain a deeper understand of hip hop music and its global influence? Then Hip-hop World is the resource for you. In this book, the author goes beyond what we already know about hip hop, and takes the reader on a journey that explores hip hop throughout the world looking at music, culture, and much more.
Icons of Hip Hop by
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Two volumes of information on iconic hip hop figures and the hip hop movement. Published in 2007, this book is an essential resource for collections.
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture by
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Not to be confused with the Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature, this source gives a history of three decades of hip hop culture by looking at its elements.
The Anthology of Rap by
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
From the old school to the golden age to the mainstream and on to the new millennium hip hop lovers and neophytes will find The Anthology of Rap to be an essential resource and as it sheds light on hundreds of lyrics behind the hip hop beats. This is a great resource for an analysis of hip hop lyrics or a compare and contrast assignment. Before each of the lyrics, the authors give background information about the artists which help put the lyrics in perspective. The anthology includes a forward by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and afterwards by Chuck D and Common. When you check out this book also, checkout the videos on this page to hear from the editors and rap artists.
Interview with Dr. Stanley
Dr. Tarshia Stanley Transcript
Tarshia Stanley's transcript on the Study of Black Popular Culture video. Associate Professor of English, Spelman College, Tarshia Stanley commentates on the Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature.
AUC Author Series- Dr. Tarshia Stanley (2 Videos)
Extended Interview: Editors of "The Anthology of Rap"
Extended Interview: Rapper Common talks to Jeffrey Brown
The Hip Hop Reader by
Publication Date: 2007-02-16
This anthology of essays on hip hop is direct toward the composition student and is not intended to be a comprehensive text.
Global Linguistic Flows by
Publication Date: 2008-09-04
Excerpt: This volume addressed a constellation of concerns: Hip Hop Cultures, youth identities, the politics of language, and the simultaneous processes of globalization and localization. . . .Scholars are turning to the study of global Hip Hop cultures as a means toward both illuminating our understanding this abstract, discursive, popular cultural zone and delving deeper into the workings of complex processes such as transnationalism, cultural flow, syncretism, indigenization, hybridity, (im)migration, and Diaspora, to name a few of the concepts that permeate this volume.
The Black Studies Reader by
Publication Date: 2004-03-18
The Black Studies Reader gives readers a look into black culture and concepts through a series of articles. Education, faith, and sexually are among some of the topics discussed. This book is an essential resource for your collection, and it also includes a selected bibliography.
Hip-Hop and Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2005-10-26
Excerpt: This rich collection of essays –edited by the visionaries Derrick Darby and Tommie Shelby – brings together the work of academic philosophers of all colors on the most influential cultural phenomena in the entertainment industry on the globe. ~Cornel West
African American Communication and Identities by
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
A go to resource for exploring communication in the black community and as a culture.
Black Cool by
Publication Date: 2012-02-07
This book is an easy read and contains several essays on the concept of blackness. Particularly this books explores community, race, self expression and much more from the black experience.