Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reverend Gardner C. Taylor Collection: How to Access and Use the Gardner C. Taylor Collection

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Barnes, Sandra L. “Black Church Culture and Community Action.” Social Forces 84, no. 2 (December 2005): 967-94.

Wharry, Cheryl. “Amen and Hallelujah Preaching: Discourse Functions in African American Sermons.” Language in Society 32, no. 2 (April 2003): 203-25. 

 D'Apolito, Rosemary. “The Activist Role of the Black Church: A Theoretical Analysis and an Empirical Investigation of One Contemporary Activist Black Church.” Journal of Black Studies 31, no. 1 (September 2000): 96-123.

Edwards, Korie L. “Race, Religion, and Worship: Are Contemporary African-American Worship Practices Distinct?” Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion 48, no. 1 (March 2009): 30-52.

 

 

 

 

Online Archives Workshop for Gardner C. Taylor Collection

FAQs

Q. Where can I find out more about Rev. Gardner C. Taylor?

A. Please utilize some of the texts to the left of this column in your research and study.  Also, the Rev. Gardner C. Taylor Preaching Laboratory at the Interdenominational Theological Center in the Atlanta University Center houses Taylor’s Recorded Sermons, which will prove useful in your exploration of Rev. Taylor’s work.  Learn more here.

Q. What is an archives?
A. The term "archives" has multiple meanings. An archives is:

  • The noncurrent records of an organization or institution, or personal papers of a person or family
  • The building or physical space where archival materials are housed and
  • The program that manages the care of the archival material.

 

Q. What are the definitions of Primary and Secondary Sources?

(Found in A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology by Richard Pearce-Moses.)

Primary Source

Material that contains firsthand accounts of events and that was created contemporaneous to those events or later recalled by an eyewitness.

Primary sources emphasize the lack of intermediaries between the thing or events being studied and reports of those things or events based on the belief that firsthand accounts are more accurate. Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; government, church, and business records; oral histories; photographs, motion pictures, and videos; maps and land records; and blueprints. Newspaper articles contemporaneous with the events described are traditionally considered primary sources, although the reporter may have compiled the story from witnesses, rather than being an eyewitness. Artifacts and specimens may also be primary evidence if they are the object of study.

Secondary Source

1. A work that is not based on direct observation of or evidence directly associated with the subject, but instead relies on sources of information.

2. A work commenting on another work (primary sources), such as reviews, criticism, and commentaries.

Q. How can I research at the Archives Research Center?

A. Please use the Finding Aids to locate the documents you are interested in reviewing. Then make an appointment with the ARC by sending an email to archives@auctr.edu, or by calling (404) 978-2052.  If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Archives Research Center.

 * * *

For answers please visit FAQs about Archives