Subject Area:Theology & Religion
Resources in theology are purchased in support of the Interdenominational Theological Center’s graduate programs (Master of Divinity, Master of Arts in Religion and Education and Master of Arts in Liturgical Arts and Culture) and postgraduate programs (Doctor of Ministry), and Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, and Spelman College's undergraduate programs in religion. Major areas of emphasis include:
Resources are purchased in support of the undergraduate departments of religion at Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, and Spelman College. The core curricula constitute introductory courses in this discipline with majors completing special areas, e.g., religions of the world, Womanist, and Diaspora studies.
Languages
Theological resources are collected in a variety of languages: English, Greek, Hebrew, Latin, Theological German, and Aramaic. Some Spanish titles that add depth to the Central and South American context are collected.
Chronological Coverage
The majority of the theological collection is concentrated on current works. However, there is an intentional effort to selectively purchase lacuna from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries across the theological spectrum. (Reprints of early classics are included.) If funds were allocated, this would include incunabula as related to tracing the history of religion from the availability of printing to the present.
Geographical Coverage
The collection’s focus is Africa, Europe and North America. In order to provide in-depth coverage resources focusing on traditional African religions, Asia (religions of the world), and particularly titles that document the Black Experience are collected.
Scope
Resources that trace the historical and present coverage for the entire spectrum of theological/religious education (from incunabula through the present) are considered in-scope. These are aimed at a scholarly audience (theological users) with specialized needs.
The attempt is to concentrate on collecting primary sources that support the degree programs (both undergraduate and graduate) and faculty research of the member institutions comprising the Atlanta University Center. These include monographs, serials, bibliographies, reference works, etc. It is understood however, that scholarly secondary sources add depth and are collected. Core journals are essential in print and electronic forms.
Members of faculty are given the opportunity to recommend books, audio-visual materials, journals and electronic databases. Students and faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate to the Religion and Theology curriculum by filling out a purchase request or contacting the subject librarian.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks: print or electronic, or teachers’ edition. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes. The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC Religion and Theology faculties. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library.
