Resources in philosophy are purchased in support of the Interdenominational Theological Center’s graduate program (Master of Divinity) and postgraduate programs (Doctor of Ministry and Doctor of Theology in Pastoral Counseling. Major area of emphasis includes curriculum Area II: Philosophy, Theology, Ethics, and Church History.
Resources in support of the undergraduate departments of philosophy at Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, and Spelman College are purchased. The core curricula constitute introductory courses in this discipline with majors completing special areas, e.g., Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern philosophy.
Languages
Philosophy resources are collected in a variety of languages: English, German, and Latin.
Chronological Coverage
The majority of the philosophy collection is concentrated on current works. However, there is an intentional effort to selectively purchase lacuna from the ancient, medieval, and renaissance periods of philosophy. The emphasis is on philosophers and movements that provide insight into the great questions that dominate the history of human thought.
Geographical Coverage
The collection’s focus is Europe and North America. In order to provide in-depth coverage, however, resources from Africa (traditional African philosophies) and Asia (philosophies of the world) and particularly titles that document philosophical movements in the Black Experience are collected.
Scope
Resources that trace the historical and present coverage for the entire spectrum of philosophical thought (from incunabula through the present) are considered in scope. These are aimed at a scholarly audience (philosophy users) with specialized needs.
The attempt is to concentrate on collecting primary sources that support the degree programs (both undergraduate and graduate) and faculty research of the member institutions comprising the Atlanta University Center. These include monographs, serials, bibliographies, reference works, etc., in print and electronic forms. It is understood, however, that secondary sources add depth and are collected. Core journals are essential in print and electronic formats.
Members of faculty are given the opportunity to recommend books, audio-visual materials, journals and electronic databases. Students and faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate to the Philosophy curriculum through the Demand Driven Acquisitions model.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks: print or electronic or teachers’ editions. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes.
The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC Philosophy faculties. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library.
