Subject Area: Mathematics
The mathematics collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library supports the curricula of the undergraduate degree programs in Mathematics at Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College and Spelman College; and a five-year B.S./M.S. degree program in Mathematics at Clark Atlanta University. Undergraduate students may also complete additional course requirements to become certified in secondary education. Curricular offerings focus on the basic principles and concepts of mathematics including calculus, abstract and linear algebra, set theory, differential equations, real analysis, topology, and probability and statistics. Students enrolled in the Clark Atlanta University five-year B.S./M.S. program complete course work the master’s degree in pure and applied mathematics.
Languages
English, but may include translations of significant works. Foreign language materials may be obtained via the Woodruff Library Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLiad).
Chronological Coverage
No limits, emphasis on contemporary resources.
Geographical Coverage
The collection focuses primarily on information resources relevant to the study, teaching and research of mathematics and related topics without regard to geographical origin.
Scope
The undergraduate collection focuses primarily on basic principles and concepts of mathematics. The graduate collection focuses on resources that support study and research in the areas of pure and applied mathematics.
Scholarly journals, primary sources, scholarly secondary resources, and standard reference sources are collected in print and electronic formats. Electronic formats are preferred for all items added to the Library’s collection.
The collection provides strong coverage for the basic principles and concepts of mathematics. Special efforts are made to collect additional information resources to support graduate level study and research in the areas of pure and applied mathematics.
Textbooks are purchased and placed on permanent course reserves, upon request by departmental faculty.
