Subject Area: Chemistry
The chemistry collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library supports the curricula of the undergraduate degree programs in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College and Spelman College; and graduate degree programs in Chemistry at Clark Atlanta University. Undergraduate course offerings focus on the basic principles and concepts of chemistry including general chemistry, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and physical chemistry. Curricular offerings include the requisite pre-professional courses for careers in medicine, dentistry, nursing, medical technology, pharmacy and engineering. Graduate students at Clark Atlanta University complete course work and research leading to a masters or doctoral degree in biochemistry, industrial chemistry, organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and physical chemistry.
Languages
English, but may include translations of significant works. Foreign language materials may be obtained via the Woodruff Library Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLiad).
Chronological Coverage
No limits, emphasis on contemporary resources.
Geographical Coverage
The collection focuses primarily on information resources relevant to the study, teaching and research of all sub-disciplines of chemistry without regard to geographical origin.
Scope
The undergraduate collection focuses primarily on the basic principles and concepts of chemistry and biochemistry. The graduate collection focuses on resources that support study and research in the areas of biochemistry, industrial chemistry, organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and physical chemistry.
Scholarly journals, primary sources, scholarly secondary resources, and standard reference sources are collected. Electronic formats are preferred for all items added to the Library’s collection.
The collection provides strong coverage for basic principles and concepts of all sub-disciplines of chemistry. Special efforts are made to collect additional information resources to support graduate level study and research in the areas of industrial and polymer chemistry.
Textbooks are purchased and placed on permanent course reserves, upon request by departmental faculty.
