Subject Area: Sociology & Anthropology
Resources purchased for the RWWL collection must strongly support Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, and Spelman College curricula. Sociology is paired with related disciplines at each of the institutions. The Clark Atlanta University (CAU), Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice, offers four programs - Bachelor of Arts in Sociology, Master of Arts in Sociology, Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice and Master of Arts in Criminal Justice. Morehouse College, Department of Sociology offers a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology and a Criminal Justice Minor. Spelman College, Department of Sociology and Anthropology offers two majors and two minors: Bachelor of Arts Sociology and Anthropology for those who complete the anthropology concentration, Bachelor of Arts in Sociology, Minor in Sociology, and a Minor in Anthropology. Spelman also offers a Food Studies program that requires classes in the Sociology and Anthropology Department but is multidisciplinary. Faculty expertise lies in many areas including medical sociology and anthropology, criminology, race relations, social policy, gender, medical sociology, education, aging, urban problems, demography, developing countries, the family, corrections, law enforcement and environmental justice.
Languages
Generally only English Language is used; however there are a small
number of items held in Spanish.
Chronological Coverage
The collection includes historical classics as well as recent works as outlined by the Library of Congress Classification in areas of Sociology, Anthropology, Criminal Justice and Women’s and Gender Studies.
Geographical Coverage
Major collection emphasis is placed on the United States; however, intercontinental materials of an
historical comparative nature are also included in order to reflect
the global profiles of Sociology and its related disciplines.
Scope
The RWW Library Sociology Collection (and its related disciplines) aims to provide coverage to all social sciences in general, and specifically those major sources in sociology, anthropology, criminal justice and women’s studies. Most of the standard sub-disciplines are covered in the RWWL Sociology collection by combining closely related subject matters into these four mentioned categories. Types of Materials, Formats Collected the collection is comprised of monographs in various formats: indexes bibliographies, almanacs, social science guides, yearbooks, abstracts, encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources, biographical sources. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of sociology, related collections such as U.S. government documents collection, archival collection, dissertation collection, electronic resources and the World Wide Web become an integral part of the sociology collection. Library of Congress Classification Numbers for Locating Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice materials.
The collection is comprised of monographs in various formats: indexes bibliographies, almanacs, social science guides, yearbooks, abstracts, encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources, and biographical sources. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of sociology, related collections such as U.S. government documents collection, archival collection, dissertation collection, electronic resources and the World Wide Web become an integral part of the sociology collection. All formats collected, but with an emphasis on electronic materials.
This collection concentrates on issues related to African Americans and criminal justice, both online and in print. Faculty members are encouraged and given opportunity to recommend books, journals and electronic databases. Students and faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate for Criminal Justice, Sociology and Anthropology through demand driven acquisition.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks – print, electronic, or teacher’s editions. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes.
The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC faculty preferably through donation. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library.
