Subject Area: Criminal Justice
Both Clark Atlanta University and Morehouse College offer degrees in Criminal Justice. The Clark Atlanta University (CAU) Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice, offers both the Bachelor of Arts and a two-year Master’s in Criminal Justice. Morehouse College (MC), Department of Sociology offers a Minor in Criminal Justice.
Clark Atlanta University offers both a major and minor in Criminal Justice as a component of the four-year interdisciplinary undergraduate curriculum. This curriculum includes a broad range of study containing such topics as: juvenile delinquency, criminal law, corrections, judicial process and more. The curriculum is also designed to guide students through various career paths including an understanding of the theoretical knowledge base, empirical data and research methodology. The CAU Master’s program emphasizes the study of crime and the administration of criminal justice systems. The program also emphasizes the development of professional skills for leadership and careers in criminal and juvenile justice.
Morehouse College offers a minor in Criminal Justice. The curriculum seeks to promote systematic analysis of issues of crime and justice stressing theory and method with careful attention given to social policy. Core courses offered for this minor focus on criminology, corrections and the social contexts of law. Students are provided a foundation for direct entry into criminal justice and related careers.
Languages
In general, English Language materials are primarily collected. However, important works in other languages will be added when requested.
Chronological Coverage
Primarily currently published materials will receive first choice. Retrospective historical materials will be purchased when their historical value serve to shape the foundation of the Criminal Justice System in the United States of America.
Geographical Coverage
Materials relating to the Criminal Justice System in the United States are collected. Exceptions will be made when materials are of comparable worth to the collection.
Scope
The RWW Library aims to develop an interdisciplinary collection that will support an undergraduate BS degree, a minor, and a 2 year masters’ degree in criminal justice. These materials will cover a broad social science background that will undergird the study and understanding of crime, criminal behavior and the criminal justice system. International resources will be acquired as they impact study and research.
The collection is comprised of monographs in various formats: indexes, bibliographies, almanacs, social science guides, yearbooks, abstracts, encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources, and biographical sources. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of criminal justice, related collections such as U.S. government documents collection, archival collection, dissertation collection, electronic resources and the World Wide Web become an integral part of the criminal justice collection.
This collection concentrates on issues related to African Americans and criminal justice, both online and in print. Faculty members are encouraged and given opportunity to recommend books, journals and electronic databases. Students and faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate for Criminal Justice through demand driven acquisition.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks – print, electronic, or teacher’s editions. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes.
The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC Criminal Justice faculty preferably through donation. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library.
