Subject Area: Mass Media Arts
The mass media arts collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library supports research and curricular needs of the Department of Mass Media Arts at
The major areas of emphasis include writing and reporting, survey of media and society, mass communication research methods, communication law, and media seminar.
Languages
Collecting is done predominantly in, but not limited to, English.
Chronological Coverage
There are no chronological limitations and collecting will continue to support areas of significant interests among faculty and students.
Geographical Coverage
The interdisciplinary demand of mass media studies dictates the library collection to support the geographically unlimited research needs of faculty and students.
Scope
The library collection continuously aims to provide resources to support the needs of the mass media arts program, as it prepares students for journalism, public relations, radio, television, film, and multimedia careers.
Formats collected include monographs, serials, electronic resources, and videorecordings. The types of materials collected include reference, bibliographies, and archival works. Interlibrary loan services provide access to unlimited resources.
Students and faculty members have access to online and print resources in the Mass Media Arts and related subjects such as documentary filmmaking, social media, advertising, marketing, event planning and emerging media technology. Members of the faculty are given opportunities to recommend books, journals, and electronic databases. Students and faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate to the curriculum for their chosens program through the Demand Driven Acquisitions model.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks – print, electronic, or teacher’s editions. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes.
The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC Mass Media, CTEMS, and documentary film-making faculties preferably through donation. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library
