Subject Area: Political Science
The Political Science collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library supports the curricula of the Atlanta University Center schools. Clark Atlanta University (CAU), Morehouse College (MC), and Spelman College (SC) award Bachelor of Arts degrees with an option to major or minor in Political Science. The department of Political Science at Spelman College in conjunction with its Education Department prepares students for teacher certification in the social sciences. Many courses in the undergraduate Political Science curricula at CAU, MC, and SC are similar. The Departments of Political Science at MC and CAU have interdisciplinary pre-law programs for students who intent to pursue law degrees. In addition to the BA in Political Science, MC awards a BA in Urban Studies, while SC also awards a BA in International Studies.
The goal of the Political Science Department at SC is to transmit the knowledge of the discipline by teaching courses that are “designed for students who desire a basic, general knowledge of American Government; students who major in the discipline, but do not plan to go to graduate school; students who plan to go to graduate or professional schools; and students who plan to teach in the social sciences in the public schools of Georgia.” Majors at SC may select a concentration in American Institutions and Processes or International Relations. Majors at MC are required to choose a track from one of the following areas: American Government and Politics; Comparative Politics; International Relations; and Political Theory. The Political Science curriculum at CAU places directed emphasis on the political experience of African Americans in the United States, as well as black communities around the world.
The degrees of Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy are awarded at CAU. The curriculum is “organized around the political experience of black people in America and throughout the world.” The Ph.D. curriculum is divided into seven areas: U.S. Government and Politics; African Politics; Urban Politics; International Politics; Theory and Methodology; Public Administration; and Comparative Politics.
Languages
Library resources written in English are collection, both originals and in translation. International students who may need materials in languages other than English have access to the resources of other libraries through interlibrary loan services or interlibrary-use cards.
Chronological Coverage
The Political Science collection focuses mainly on contemporary works. However, some exceptions are made depending on courses offered. For example, PSC 381 (Russian Studies) covers the history of Russia from AD 862 to 1941; CPSC (Political Institutions of China) examines the political history of pre-1949 China, and CPSC 537 (Government and Politics of the Caribbean) examines the political processes in Caribbean states from colonial times to independence.
Geographical Coverage
The focus of the Political Science collection is the United States of America, Africa, China, and other parts of the world, with the greatest emphasis placed on the U.S.
Scope
The collection attempts to cover all aspects of the Political Science curricula. Library materials on the United States of America and those relating to the political experience of black people in America dominate the collection. There is overlap among Political Science and other subjects, such as Theology, Philosophy, History, Africana Studies, International Studies, Public Administration, Women’s Studies, etc. The Political Science librarian works with other subject librarians to acquire titles in areas of overlap.
Monographs, almanacs, atlases, year books, biographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, quotations, and statistics, and academic journals are collected. Formats are online books, physical books, online databases, and audiovisual materials. Online databases such as CQ Researcher, Columbia International Affairs (CIAO), JSTOR, and ProQuest Research Library are popular with students and faculty members.
Students and faculty have access to the online and print resources in Political Science and relevant resources in subjects such as Theology, Business, History, Public Administration, African Studies, etc. Members of faculty are given the opportunity to recommend books, journals, and electronic databases. Students and faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate to the Political Science curriculum through the Demand Driven Acquisitions model.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks – print, electronic, or teacher’s editions. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes.
The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC Political Science faculties preferably through donation. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library.