Subject Area: Urban Studies
The Department of Political Science at Morehouse College is responsible for the college’s Bachelor of Arts degree in Urban Studies. The program, established in 1976 is multidisciplinary in nature and draws together skills and approaches of the various social sciences and other disciplines in order to help students understand urban phenomena across local, national, and global manifestations.
The program is made up of two concentrations: Urban Management and Urban Planning. The core curriculum of the program is designed to introduce students to the field and prepare them for advanced work. One of the goals of the program is “to provide service to the city of Atlanta and the State of Georgia by translating and applying urban studies training to the solution of specific community problems…”
Clark Atlanta University offers courses such as Introduction to Urban Planning (CPSC 309) and Urban Politics and Policy (CPSC 313) in its Political Science program. Career opportunities in Urban Studies include community organization, economic development, housing administration, journalism, public administration, and urban planning.
Languages
Library resources in the English language are collection, both original publications and those in translation. Patrons who need resources in other languages have access to interlibrary loan services and interlibrary-use cards.
Chronological Coverage
Current materials are collection. Earlier historical documents may be collected when they are appropriate to research and study in the development of Urban Studies.
Geographical Coverage
Geographical coverage is not limited. Valuable resources on the history, theories, activities of urban planning and urban management, trends in urbanism, influences of technical and social change, problems connected to urban centers, migration patterns, and associate public policy are collected. Preference is given to Atlanta and State of Georgia in some cases.
Scope
The collection covers all aspects of urban studies: history, theory, activities of urban planning and urban management, trends in urbanism, influences of technical and social change, problems common to urban centers, migration patterns, and associated public policy.
Monographs, academic journals, and databases are collected. Resources that are available in electronic formats are preferred. Relevant databases include Academic Search Complete, eBook Collection, Georgia Census Data Map, Georgia Government Publications, JSTOR, and ProQuest Research Library.
Students and faculty have access to both online and print Urban Studies resources, and relevant resources in Political Science, History, Public Administration, Sociology, etc. Faculty members are given the opportunity to recommend books, journals, and electronic databases. Students are faculty are able to select electronic books appropriate to the Urban Studies curriculum through the Demand Driven Acquisitions model.
RWWL does not buy course textbooks – print, electronic, or teacher’s editions. However, the subject librarian will work with teaching faculty and students to identify resources that meet the needs of their classes.
The Library acquires monographic works authored by the AUC Urban Studies faculties preferably through donation. This includes works in all media normally collected by the Library.
