Subject Area: Kinesiology & Physical Education
The Kinesiology and Physical Education collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library supports the curricula of the undergraduate degree programs in Kinesiology & Physical Education. Morehouse College and Spelman College undergraduate course offerings focus on the basic principles and concepts of Kinesiology. The degree programs focus on the study of human performance. Students study foundational sciences such as anatomical Kinesiology, biomechanics, exercise physiology, motor behavior, and the social psychology of physical activity. Graduate degrees are designed to provide theoretical foundations of the movement-based sciences.
Languages
English, but may include translations of significant works. Foreign language materials may be obtained via the Woodruff Library Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLiad).
Chronological Coverage
No limits, emphasis on contemporary resources.
Geographical Coverage
The collection focuses primarily on information resources relevant to the study, teaching and research of the kinesiology and physical education and related topics without regard to geographical origin.
Scope
The undergraduate collection focuses primarily on the basic principles and concepts of Kinesiology/Physical Education. It involves foundational sciences such as anatomical Kinesiology, biomechanics, exercise physiology, motor behavior, and the social psychology of physical activity.
Scholarly journals, primary sources, scholarly secondary resources, and standard reference sources are collected. Electronic formats are preferred for all items added to the Library’s collection.
The collection provides strong coverage for basic principles and concepts of Kinesiology. It involves the application of biological, chemical, physical, and mathematical principles to the study of human movement and health. Special efforts are made to collect information resources to support large-scale problems, such as the impact of health issues on our society.
Textbooks are purchased and placed on permanent course reserves, upon request by departmental faculty.
