LibGuides: Bandits & Heroes, Poets & Saints: Popular Art of the Northeast of Brazil: Articles on Brazil

Databases for Articles

The African American Experience
Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience has the widest depth and breadth of information available of any online database collection on African American history and culture.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in different areas of art with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images (See video below for more detail).
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.
Communications Studies
A SAGE collection of full-text resources on communications.
Commmunications & Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media.
JSTOR
JSTOR ("journal storage") provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
Oxford African American Studies
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Project Muse
Project Muse, similar to JSTOR, is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Articles on Brazil

Below are articles relative to Brazil. Articles that are available through Woodruff Library are hyperlinked (remote access required).

Barton, S. A. (2012). “Can you take a picture of the wind?”: Candomble’s absent presence framed through regional food ways and Brazilian popular music. Canadian Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Studies, 37(74), 137-172,273.

Beattie, P. M. (2009). “Born under the cruel rigor of captivity, the supplicant left it committing acrime”: categorizing and punishing slave convicts in Brazil, 1830-1897. The Americas, 66(1), 11-55.

Behague, G. (2006). Regional and national trends in Afro-Brazilian religious musics: a case of cultural pluralism. Revista De Musica Latinoamericana, 27(1), 91-103.

Bethell, Leslie (1991). The decline and fall of slavery in Nineteenth Century Brazil. Transactions of the Royal Historical Society (Sixth series), 1, 71-88.

Brazeal, B. (2003). The music of the Bahiancaboclos. Anthropological Quarterly, 76(4), 639-669.

Butler, Kim D. (2011). Slavery in the age of emancipation: victims and rebels in Brazil’s late 19^thcentury domestic trade. Journal of Black Studies, 42(6), 968-992.

Damiani, O. (2003). Effects on employment, wages, and labor standards of non-traditional export crops in Northeast Brazil. Latin American Research Review, 38(1), 83-112.

Galloway, J. H. (1971). The last years of slavery on the sugar plantations of Northeastern Brazil. The Hispanic American Historical Review, 51(4), 586-605.

Goldman, M. (2009). An Afro-Brazilian theory of the creative process: an essay in anthropological symmetrization. Social Analysis, 53(2), 108-129.

Haberly, David T. (1972). Abolitionist in Brazil: anti-slavery and anti-slave. Luso-Brazilian Review, 9(2), 30-46.

Holston, M. (2007). Cangaceiros: Brazil‘s bandit kings. Americas, 59(6), 20-27.

Katia de, Q. M. (1997). The manumission of slaves in Brazil in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Diogenes, 45(3), 117-138.

Kraay, H. (1996). “The shelter of the uniform” the Brazilian army and runaway slaves, 1800-1888. Journal of Social History, 29(3), 637-657.

Lawrence, D. (2013). Lesser gods of Brazil: heroes and excursions into musical intelligence, www.com and jazz-arts fusion. International Journal of Arts and Sciences, 6(4), 391-409.

Lyons, C. M. S. (2011). Spaces of silence and efforts toward voice: negotiation and power among Quilombo communities in southern Bahia, Brazil. Afro-Hispanic Review, 30(2), 115-132,230.

Mahony, M. A. (2008). Creativity under constraint: enslaved Afro-Brazilian families in Brazil’s cacao area, 1870-1890. Journal of Social History, 41(3), 633-666,804.

Mahony, M. A. & Graden, D. T. (2009). From slavery to freedom in Brazil: Bahia, 1835-1900. Journal of Latin American Studies, 41(1), 161-162.

Mattos, M. B. (2010). Experiences in common: slavery and freedom in the process of Rio de Janeiro’s working-class formation, 1850-1910. International Review of Social History, 55(2), 193-213.

Meznar, Joan (1994). Orphans and the transition from slave to free labor in Northeast Brazil: the case of Campina Grande, 1850-1888. Journal of Social History, 27(3), 499-515.

Miki, Y. (2012). Fleeing into slavery: the insurgent geographies of Brazilian quilombolas (maroon), 1880-1881. The Americas, 68(4), 495-528.

Nishida, M. (1998). From ethnicity to race and gender: transformations of black lay sodalities in Salvador, Brazil. Journal of Social History, 32(2), 329-348.

Packman, J. (2009). Signifying Salvador: professional musicians and the sound of flexibility in Bahia, Brazil’s popular music scenes. Black Music Research Journal, 29(1), 83-126.

Ramos, Donald (1988). Slavery in Brazil: a case study of Diamantina, Minas Gerais. The Americas, 45(1), 47-59.

Rebhun, L. A. (2004). Sexuality, color, and stigma among Northeast Brazilian women. Medical Anthropology Quarterly, 18(2), 183-199.

Shirey, H. (2009). Transforming the Orixas: Candomble in sacred and secular spaces in Salvador da Bahia, Brazil. African Arts, 42(4), 62-79.

Taylor, Kit Sims (1970). The economics of sugar and slavery in Northeastern Brazil. Agricultural History, 44(3), 267-280.

Wood, M. (2011). The museu do negro in Rio and the cult of Anastacia as a new model for the memory of slavery. Representations, 113(1), 111-149.