Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Interiors: GLAM Center for Collaborative Teaching and Learning

About

The Atlanta University Center (AUC) Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums (GLAM) Center for Collaborative Teaching & Learning is an AUC Robert W. Woodruff Library project funded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The AUC GLAM Center is a collaboration between Clark Atlanta University Art Museum, Spelman College Museum of Fine Art and the AUC Woodruff Library’s Archives Research Center. The initiative provides faculty training in object-based pedagogy as well as virtual access to the culturally rich holdings of the AUC collections through the GLAM Digital Portal. The creation of the AUC GLAM Digital Portal provides a platform for images from all AUC GLAM institutions that are shared in one single repository, under thematic exhibitions, to increase the discoverability of the materials in the collections and positively impact the curriculum of all four AUC institutions. 

GLAM is dedicated to fostering collaborations between AUC’s library and museums to improve teaching and learning through increased access and use of museum, archival and library collections.

Spelman College Museum of Fine Art

Spelman College Museum of Fine Art

To inspire and enrich the Spelman College community and the general public primarily through art by women of the African Diaspora. 

Hours:

Tuesdays - Fridays
10 a.m. - 4 p.m. 

Saturdays
12 - 4 p.m. 

CLOSED 
Sunday, Monday, holidays, summers, and official Spelman College breaks

Suggested donation is $3.00

Clark Atlanta University Art Museum

Clark Atlanta University Art Museum (formerly the Clark Atlanta Art Galleries) is one of the largest and most historically significant collections of African American fine art in the country, the permanent collection comprises 1,215 works of art. The collection dates from 1912 and includes paintings, murals, sculpture and works on paper acquired through gifts and purchases.

Hours:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Closed during Holidays and official Clark Atlanta University breaks and closures.  

Robert W. Woodruff Library

RWWL was constructed in 1982 to serve as a shared resource serving a consortium of four independent Historically Black Colleges and Universities: Clark Atlanta University, the Interdenominational Theological Center, Morehouse College, and Spelman College. As the "center of the Center," the AUC Woodruff Library is the intellectual and information hub of the Atlanta University Center.

Hours:

Monday: 7:30 am - midnight
Tuesday: 7:30 am - midnight
Wednesday: 7:30 am - midnight
Thursday: 7:30 am - midnight
Friday: 7:30 am - 6 pm
Saturday: 12 pm - 6 pm
Sunday: noon - midnight

The Library will operate 24 hours during exam periods. Service desk hours are from 8 am - 2 am.

AUC RWWL Archives Research Center

Located within the AUC Woodruff Library, the Archives Research Center is noted for its extensive and unique holdings of materials on the African American experience, including the John Henrik Clarke African and African American Collection, the Henry P. Slaughter, Countee Cullen Memorial Collection, Atlanta Student Movement Collection, Maynard Jackson mayoral administrative records and countless others. In addition, at the request of Morehouse College, the library serves as custodian of the Morehouse College Martin Luther King Jr. Collection, as well as student publications, yearbooks, magazines, and photographs of the current and historical institutions of the Atlanta University Center. With over 8,000 linear feet of materials, it contains over 105 unique collections, including the Morehouse College Martin Luther King, Jr. Collection.

Hours:

Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Tuesday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Wednesday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Thursday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Friday: 1 pm - 5 pm
Saturday: 12 pm - 5 pm
Sunday: closed

Note: ARC is accessible by appointment ONLY with 24 business hours' notice.