Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives Research Center General Research Guide: Archives Instruction Services

Identifying and locating primary sources at the Archives Research Center and Beyond

Archives Research Center's Instruction Philosophy

 The Archives Research Center[ARC], gravitates towards instructional experiences that encourage curiosity and joy in the classroom.  ARC’s approach to instruction is student-centered, and we believe students should be active participants in their own learning experiences. It is our role to act as a critical thought partner to our users both inside and outside of the learning spaces. Along with the librarians of the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library, the archivists view instruction as a starting point in the research process, not the end. We prepare students for life-long learning and self-education by promoting a network of services, encouraging critical-thinking, and demonstrating responsible scholarship.

Archival Instruction Surveys

LIBRARY QUICK LINKS

undefined

The Archives Research Center has an active instruction program and encourage the use of its collections in K-12, undergraduate and graduate classes, as well as various community engagement initiatives. Each year we host a diverse range of classes that use our collections for their research, assignments and/or course work. We offer multiple options for instruction and orientation; all tailored to the specific needs of faculty and our community members. The goal of archival instruction sessions taught by the staff at the Archives Research Center is to provide students the knowledge, skills, and abilities to find, interpret, and ethically use primary sources. Our sessions are tailored to the needs of each specific class and/or special interest groups and serve as an introduction to the holdings within the Archives Research Center.

To Request Instruction click here and complete the Archives Instruction Request Form

Assistant Head, Archives Research Center

Type of Instruction Offered by the Archives Research Center

undefined

We offer multiple options for instruction and orientation; all tailored to the specific needs of faculty and community members some of which include:

  • General Archival Literacy- this session includes basic information on what archives are and how primary sources can be utilized for research. This also includes a brief overview/introduction to document analysis.
  • Primary Source/Visual Literacy –this session includes a more in-depth look at select materials and topics relating to the individual course, and typically has an assignment directly related.
  • Digital Humanities- this session is a combination course with emphasis on digital collections, digital exhibition and/or intro to researching born digital materials