Skip to Main Content

Mass Media Arts: Find Data & Media

A guide to the field of mass media arts that includes introductory information, links to resources and news about the profession.
  • Last Updated: Mar 22, 2024 10:02 AM
  • URL: https://research.auctr.edu/massmedia
  • Print Page

Stanford Cable TV News Analyzer

This is a tool to count the screen time of who and what is in cable TV news. The example about is for the names "biden" and "trump".

The Stanford Cable TV News Analyzer was created by the Computer Graphics Lab at Stanford University in collaboration with the John S. Knight Fellowship Program.

The project is supported by financial and computing gifts from the Brown Institute for Media Innovation, Intel Corporation, Google Cloud, Amazon Web Services, and the National Science Foundation. The video dataset was provided for academic use by The Internet Archive.

Fact-Checking Tools

PolitiFact.com

Snopes

FactCheck.org

SciCheck(a part of FactCheck.org)

 Global Fact-Checking Database (a fact-checker of fact-checkers from Duke Reporters' Lab)

Streaming Media

Freely Available Streaming Film and Television

(not licensed by the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library)

  • Brave New Films: Offers documentary films on social justice subjects free for classroom use (with some strings attached). Plan ahead to schedule availability. 
  • Cabin Fever Videos to Watch: A spreadsheet list of experimental film freely available on Vimeo and YouTube. 
  • Crackle: Ad-supported full length feature films and television.
  • Indigenous Cinema: National Film Board of Canada's online collection of Indigenous-made films.
  • Internet Archive: Not just books! The Internet Archive includes film, television, live concert recordings, and radio. 
  • Korean Classic Film Archive: Collection of classic Korean film made available on YouTube.
  • Library of Congress, Film & Video: Over 8,000 historic film and video streaming online. 
  • Library of Congress, Historical Film Playlists: Curated historical film collections from Library of Congress.
  • Media Burn: Independent video archive, documentaries with a social justice lens.
  • PBS Independent Film Collections: Some films in the various independent films series funded by PBS made freely available.
  • Pluto TV: Ad-supported full-length feature films, television shows, and live television. 
  • Top Documentary Films: Thousands of documentaries available on a wide range of topics. 
  • Tubi TV: Tubi is the world’s largest ad-supported video on demand service with over 20,000 movies and television shows from nearly every major Hollywood studio.
  • WGBH Open Vault: WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA) provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station.
  • YouTube: Some movies and television available free with ads. Films also available to rent, usually individual fees. 
  • Vimeo: Some films available free with ads. Films also available to rent, usually individual fees. 
Subjects: Art, Mass Media Arts