American Memory
Provides free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s vast holdings. Keyword search or browse these online collections by topic, time period, material type or place.
Background Notes - U.S. Department of State
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Congressional Directory
Contains short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district. Also lists committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress. Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
Country Studies - Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Freely accessible through the U.S. Department of Justice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
World Factbook
Published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
This series of profiles of foreign nations is part of the Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program. The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
Data through 2008 by country, region, and commercial group (OECD, OPEC) for 215 countries including total and crude oil production, oil consumption, natural gas production and consumption, coal production and consumption, electricity generation and consumption, primary energy, energy intensity, CO2 emissions and imports and exports for all fuels.
The Trade Profiles, maintained by the World Trade Organization, provide standard information on the structural trade situation and trade policy measures of members, observers and other selected economies. The profiles are complemented with general macroeconomic indicators.
Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
Constitution Finder is offered as a public service, without charge, by individuals, members of the University of Richmond School of Law community.
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices are submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
TradeStats Express displays the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics:
At national and state levels
In maps, graphs, and tables.
As exports, imports, and trade balances.
Maintained by the U.S. Geological Survey
GNS Geographic names data is freely available to the public. It does not contain any coverage data for the United States of America or its Dependent areas. To obtain U.S. coverage data, please access the GNIS database.