Skip to main content

Our Story: Publications and Photographs of the Atlanta University Center: Home

  • Last Updated: Jan 16, 2020 5:02 PM
  • URL: https://research.auctr.edu/c.php?g=943810
  • Print Page

Grant Partner

Grant Partner

 Spelman College

Grant Partner

  Morehouse College

Welcome to the Our Story Digitization Project at the Robert W. Woodruff Library, AUC

Welcome to the Our Story, Digitizing Publications and Photographs of the Historic Atlanta University Center LibGuide! This guide serves as an additional research tool for the collections made accessible thanks to a generous grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources. These collections highlight African Americans in higher education, civil rights, religion, sports, student activities, and politics. More detailed information about the collections are available in the AUC Woodruff Library’s Archives Research Center, and through the Archives online finding aids. Please note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available.

To access all collections used in this grant please visit http://digitalexhibits.auctr.edu/exhibits/show/ourstory.

To access finding aids for all collections used in this grant please visit http://findingaids.auctr.edu/repositories/resources

The Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library (AUC Woodruff Library) is honored to receive a generous grant from the Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives: Enabling New Scholarship through Increasing Access to Unique Materials, a national grant administered by the Council on library and Information Resources, supported by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The purpose of the grant is to support the creation of digital representation of unique content of broad significance that will be discoverable and useable, for an emerging global digital research environment to ensure the full wealth of resources held by institutions of cultural memory becomes integrated with the open web. 

The Library’s Archives Research Center and Digital Services Department partnered with Spelman College, Morehouse College, and the Digital Library of Georgia to digitize over 740,000 individual pages that span from 1880-2014.The materials included in this grant were Newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, catalogs, journals, yearbooks, thesis, dissertations and photographs. Of that we have 16 publications, 10 Photographic collections, and 5 newspaper series included in this grant.