History of Morehouse College by 
Mays and Morehouse by The is collections is comprised of Catalogs and Bulletins from Morehouse College from 1931-1993 providing information on degree programs, polices and procedures, fees and administrative issues, academic course offerings, faculty, staff, board members, alumnus and news.
This collection contains the year books of Morehouse. This is not a complete run. Yearbooks range 1923-12013.
The Morehouse College Photograph Collection includes photographs depicting the buildings and grounds, students, campus events and visitors, faculty, and individuals associated with Morehouse College dating from the 1880s through the 1970s. The images showcase aspects of the history of Morehouse College as the only all-male historically Black college in the United States. Morehouse College was founded by Reverend William Jefferson White in 1867, in Augusta, Georgia in the basement of Springfield Baptist Church and was known as The Augusta Theological Institute. After an invitation by the Reverend Frank Quarles in 1879, the College relocated to the basement of Friendship Baptist Church in Atlanta, and changed its name to Atlanta Baptist Seminary. The College relocated once more to its present home in the West End community of Atlanta, Georgia in 1890, and changed its name one last time to Morehouse College in 1913. Part of this collection is held in the RWWL Archives Research Center, the photograph album is held at the Morehouse College Archives.
Hugh M. Gloster President of Morehouse College (1967-1987), was professionally active as administrator, teacher, writer, speaker, USO wartime executive, and American representative in educational and technical programs in foreign countries.This collection consists of photographs that document Dr. Hugh Gloster's time at Morehouse College such as: commencements, Convocation, Founders' Day, banquets, and school events.
Edward Allen Jones (1903-1981) attended Morehouse Academy in 1918. Upon graduation from the Academy in 1922, he entered Morehouse College, where he received his B.A. and graduated as class Valedictorian in 1926. Dr. Jones began his teaching career at Morehouse College in 1927 and worked as a professor there until 1977. While a member of the Morehouse faculty, he served as Chairman of the Department of Foreign Languages from 1930-1977, and held the Fuller E. Callaway Chair in French from 1970-1977. At the time of his death he was serving as the Director of Institutional Research at Morehouse. Beyond his as a a professor, Dr. Jones was a member of the College Language Association, Editor of the College Language Association Journal from, a member of Phi Beta Kappa, and President of the Grand Jurors Association of Fulton County. Photographs range from the 1920s-1970s.
Gladstone Lewis Chandler an English professor at Morehouse College from 1931 until his death in 1965. During his 34 year tenure, he served as the faculty representative for the Maroon Tiger, the student-run newspaper, and taught three generations of Morehouse graduates, including Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Outside of his career as a professor, Chandler was also involved in the Atlanta community as an active civic worker and the leader of campaigns for the YMCA, the Community Chest, and the UNCF. He was a member of the St. Paul's Episcopal Church as active participant in the Vestry and the Men's Club. He also served as president of the neighborhood club Fountain Drive-Morris Brown Drive community club , where he led a successful battle to prevent a highway from being built through the neighborhood. Beyond his civic activity, Chandler was the first African American to conduct a campaign for a mayoral candidate in the city of Atlanta.
The photographs in this collection document the personal and professional life of Gladstone Chandler and the Chandler family.
Newspapers of Morehouse College through the years.
Morehouse is a private, all-male, liberal arts, historically African American college known as one of the few remaining traditional men's liberal arts colleges in the United States. It is one of two historically African American colleges in the country to produce Rhodes Scholars, and it is the alma mater of many African American community and civil leaders, including Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
