LibGuides: Psychology: Find Articles

Psychology Quick Links

PubMed

APA Style

Class Session Slides

Welcome!

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

One of the most efficient ways to locate articles on topics related to Psychology is to use the library's research databases. These databases are selected and purchased by the Library to provide access to research and information from journals in every discipline. When connecting to these resources from off-campus, users will need to log in using your campus-issued username and password.

Major Psychology Databases

PsycArticles
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychology Association, covers scholarly literature in the broad discipline of psychology from journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. Coverage is from 1887 to date.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Psychology Database™ provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Additionally, Psychology Database includes full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.
more...less...
Psychology Database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. This is a comprehensive collection exclusive with access to more than 4 million articles and features including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
SAGE Research Methods
This database doesn't give you scholarly research articles, it gives you definitions and examples of different research methods. Explore concepts such as developing a research topic, conducting a literature review, and learning about different research methods and analyses.
Science Direct
Overs 1,800 full text journals in the areas of science, technology, and medicine. Full text coverage for all titles goes back to 1995; coverage for IDEAL titles goes back to 1993.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Access information from hundreds of industry-leading journals covering topics essential to
your research

Search Tips!

To narrow search results to a particular phrase, put quote marks around that phrase. For example: "treatment effectiveness evaluation" will search for that entire phrase all together (as opposed to the words "treatment" + "effectiveness" + "evaluation" somewhere in the text).
To expand search results, try using an asterisk to cut off an important search word. For example, searching alco* will give you results for the words "alcohol," "alcoholism," "alcoholic," and "alcoholics." (This is called a "wildcard search.")
Don't forget the AND, OR, & NOT operatives.
- Use AND to combine dissimilar search terms, like "academic performance" AND "life satisfaction."
- Use OR to combine two similar terms, like "life satisfaction" OR "happiness."
- Use NOT to exclude terms from your search. If "spinach" keeps popping up in your results, put "NOT spinach" to filter spinach out.

Your Subject Librarian

Monya Tomlinson

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

111 James P. Brawley Drive SW, Atlanta, GA 30314

404.978.2071

Locating Journals

To see if a journal is available in print in the Library's collection, please use the Library Catalog and select "Journal, magazine" from the left sidebar filters to focus your search results. The results should display the journals we have online, in print, and via microfilm.

To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, search by the journal's name on the E-Journals page.

Finally, use this link to see all of the library's journals, and what databases they are in: Journals A-Z

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar will conduct a wide search of journals, books, and other publications based on the keywords you enter into the search box.

You may not be able to fully access the articles and books that Google Scholar finds, but you can take those titles and search through the library's resources to gain access to them. If we don't own them, we can try to request them for you.

Be Like Me: Follow A.Word.A.Day!

Today's word is: