LibGuides: Psychology: Find Books

General Resources

If you don't know where to start with your research, you can browse any of the following resources to get ideas.

Annual Review of Psychology
This journal publishes reviews of psychology studies and gives you an idea of what tropics are currently being researched in the field.
E-book Collection
Our e-book collection offers over 23,000 reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books. It contains nearly 4,000 books under the subject of "psychology."
Encyclopaedia Brittanica
This is a great place to start if you want general information on your research topics.
Oxford Reference Library
Oxford Reference contains over 200 reference books in the areas of literature, arts and sciences, food and drink, medicine, world politics, and history as well as maps and timelines.

Psychology-related books books can be found in subclass BF of the Library of Congress Classification System. Here is a brief outline of sections pertaining to Psychology:

BF1-990	Psychology
BF176-176.5	Psychological Tests & Testing
BF180-198.72	Experimental Psychology
BF309-499	Cognitive psychology
BF636-637	Applied psychology
BF660-685	Animal & human psychology
BF712-724.85	Developmental psychology
LB1050.9-1091	Educational Psychology
HF5548.7-5548.85	Industrial psychology
HM1001 – 1281	Social psychology
RC467	Clinical psychology (Psychiatry)

There are other areas of the collection that contain resources supporting the field of psychology, including:

First Volume (1974-08-01) to 1998
Collection: SAGE Journals Complete Deep Backfile Purchase 2021
Coverage:
1974-08-01~1998-11-01; volume:1;issue:1~volume:24;issue:4
1999 to present
Collection: SAGE Journals Premier 2019
Coverage:
1999-02-01~present; volume:25~present;issue:1~present