Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Records
Organization of Materials
- A group of materials with some unifying characteristic
- Materials assembled by a person, organization, or repository from a variety of sources.
- A group of similar records that are arranged according to a filing system and that are related as the result of being created, received or used in the same activity
- A body of documents within a series readily distinguished from the whole by filing arrangement, type, form, or content.
- A group of documents related by use or topic, typically housed in a folder.
Description of Materials
- A package or housing used to hold materials, such as a box or folder
- A person, family, or corporate body that created, assembled, accumulated, and/or maintained and used records in the context of personal or corporate body activity. A creator can also be responsible for the intellectual content of a single item.
Welcome to the Robert W. Woodruff Library Archives Research Center
The Archives Research Center's holdings include books, manuscript collections, digital collections, and materials documenting the Atlanta University Center schools, as well as the African American and African Diasporic Experience. These resources contain letters, photographs, writings, yearbooks, programs, minutes, and much more. This guide is a great source of information to assist in your primary resource research. Use the tabs above to find useful resources related to the Archives Research Center.
Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (404) 978-2052 to schedule an appointment, or for questions about the Archives Research Center. See the box to the right for our hours.
What is a Finding Aid?
Finding aids act as inventories that describe and list the contents of collections and contain information about the person, family, or organization that created the collection.
Through the Archives Research Center finding aids website, you will be able to search and browse finding aids for more than 150 collections available for research. Visit the link below to access the Archives Research Center finding aids.
Archives Research Center Hours
Semester Research Hours for Fall 2021
|Mon. – Thurs.
*Contact us at email@example.com about appointments .