Subject Area: Environmental Sciences
The environmental sciences collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library supports the curricula of the undergraduate major and minor degree programs in Environmental Science and Studies; and minor degree programs in Environmental Health and Environmental Studies at Spelman College. Curricular offerings focus on the basic principles and concepts of the environmental sciences including environmental health, ecology, environmental chemistry, toxicology, environmental policy and politics, general statistics, and epidemiology.
Languages
English, but may include translations of significant works. Foreign language materials may be obtained via the Woodruff Library Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLiad).
Chronological Coverage
No limits, emphasis on contemporary resources.
Geographical Coverage
The collection focuses primarily on information resources relevant to the study, teaching and research of the environmental sciences, ecology, and related topics without regard to geographical origin.
Scope
The collection focuses primarily on the basic principles and concepts of environmental studies and ecology, related topics.
Scholarly journals, primary sources, scholarly secondary resources, and standard reference sources are collected. Electronic formats are preferred for all items added to the Library’s collection.
The collection provides good coverage for basic principles and concepts related to environmental sciences and ecology.
Textbooks are purchased and placed on permanent course reserves, upon request by departmental faculty.
