Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives Research Center General Research Guide: Policies & Procedures

Identifying and locating primary sources at the Archives Research Center and Beyond

Archives Research Center Hours

 Semester Research Hours for Spring 2020

*BY APPOINTMENT ONLY*

Mon. – Thurs. 1pm-7pm
Fri. 1pm-5pm
Sat. Closed
Sun. Closed

*Appointments must be made 24 business hours in advance.

LIBRARY QUICK LINKS

ARC Reading Room Policy

The Atlanta University Center Woodruff Library and Archives Research Center promote open and equal access to the collections in their care without discrimination or preferential treatment, and in accordance with legal requirements, cultural sensitivities and institutional polices. The Library recognizes its responsibility to promote the use of archival collections as a fundamental purpose of the preservation of archives.  Researchers must complete and sign a Research Agreement, which governs use of archival collections, once each fiscal year (July 1-June 30) and provide valid photo identification (i.e., driver's license, student or faculty ID, passport). Researchers must also sign the register daily during each research visit. Restrictions may be placed on access for the protection of privacy or confidentiality in the collections or due to the fragile nature of the material.

This policy adheres to the Code of Ethics for Archivists approved by the Society of American Archivists February 5, 2005. VI. Access.

  • Archives Research Center Research Agreement Form
  • Morehouse College Martin Luther King Jr. Collection Research Agreement Form 

Photocopies, Permission to Publish and Image Reproductions

Camera Use Policy & Photocopies: 

Patrons are permitted limited use of digital still cameras. Physical condition, copyright issues, donor restrictions, curatorial decisions and other factors may limit or prohibit photography. Photographs are for personal study purposes only and cannot be reproduced; transferred to any other individual, institution, or collection; exhibited; performed; broadcast; published; posted on the Internet; or used commercially.

The Archives Research Center reserves the right to prohibit or limit photocopying of fragile, restricted, and copyrighted materials. Due to copyright policy, no more than 20 percent of a collection can be copied, and is at the discretion of the archivist. Of the materials in the Morehouse College Martin Luther King Jr. Collectiononly 20 percent of a document may be copied.  In accordance with this policy, documents may only be photocopied if they are more than six pages in length. Photocopies of materials in the Archives Research Center may be requested for a fee and are prepared by the staff. Depending on the staffing level and size of the copy request, photocopies may not be available on the same day of the request.

Permission to Publish: 

Researchers may be granted permission to publish materials in the Archives Research Center. Requests are considered on a case-by-case basis.  If you already possess the digitized image(s) you wish to publish, complete the entire Permission to Publish Request form. If you need digitized images, fill out the Image Reproduction Request and complete questions 7 through 11 of the Permission to Publish Request.

An invoice will be sent to the e-mail provided. Payment is accepted by money order or credit/debit card. In addition to reproduction fees and/or permission fees, the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library requests donation of the finished publication for our holdings.

Image Reproductions:

You may request reproductions of images from an archival collection by completing the Image Reproduction request form. If the images requested are to be published, you will also need to submit a Permission to Publish Request form.  If you already possess the image(s) you wish to publish, you do not need to complete the Image Reproduction form but still need to fill out the Permission to Publish Request form.  From the date of your submission, please allow at least seven business days to process your request.

An invoice will be sent to the e-mail provided. Payment is accepted by money order or credit/debit card.  In addition to reproduction fees and permission fees, the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library requests donation of the finished publication for our holdings. Please allow at least seven business days from the date payment is received to process your request.

Archives Reading Room Policies

  • All materials in the Archives are housed in closed stacks and can only be viewed in the research room
  • The amount of material a researcher may review at one time may be limited
  • Only pencils provided by the Archives are permitted within the research room
  • Personal computers may be allowed in the research room only when an inspection of the computer by RWWL staff is performed
  • Pens, scanners, cell phones, MP3 players, flash drives, or photographic devices are strictly prohibited.
  • All other items, including purses, briefcases, computer cases, and backpacks, must be placed in the lockers provided
  • Smoking, eating, and drinking (including water) are not permitted in the research room

 

Find Us Online